Need To Know About Hit & Run In California

Hit-and-Run Accident

A hit-and-run is a cowardly act. It’s where someone causes an accident and then flees the scene. When the person who fled the accident is found, they will face hit and run charges and more than likely a stint in jail. 

What can be classified as a hit-and-run?

A hit-and-run accident is when a driver hits a pedestrian or another car and then leaves the scene without stopping to provide their information. This is a crime in most states, and it can result in serious penalties if you are caught.

There are a few different scenarios that could lead to a hit-and-run. The driver may not have insurance, or they intoxicate. They may also be trying to avoid a ticket or arrest. Regardless of the reason, hit-and-run accidents are serious and can have lifelong consequences for the victim.

Complying with legal obligations is everyone’s duty

Even though a road accident is a traumatic experience for anyone, you still have to comply with your legal obligations. A hit-and-run in California comes with legal consequences. The law stipulates your legal duties if you involve in an accident. It becomes more important when there have been injuries or someone killed. 

If property damage is caused by the hit-and-run person, they will face prison time and hefty fines. When you’re involved in a collision where the property is damaged, the same rules apply as if you were in a car accident with another car. 

If there are injuries after a hit-and-run, the driver who fled the scene can face a year in jail. There will also be a hefty fine of between $1,000 and $10,000. A death caused by the accident in a hit-and-run case can see the driver facing anything between 2 to 4 years in state prison and a fine of around $10 000.

A hit and run can be a felony or misdemeanor

A hit and run can be a felony or misdemeanor, depending on the severity of the accident and the injuries involved. If the accident results in serious injury or death, it is a felony. If the accident only results in property damage, it is a misdemeanor.

Most accidents are misdemeanors, but they can still result in jail time, fines, and a driver’s license suspension. The penalties for a hit and run depend on the state in which the accident occurred. In some states a hit and run is a felony if the victim injure. While other states, a hit and run is only a felony if the victim kill.

In California, with a hit-and-run accident, fatalities generally result in a felony charge. However, prosecutors can charge perpetrators with misdemeanor and felony charges, depending on the damages to property and the injuries incurred by all those involved in the accident. 

  • For a misdemeanor in California, you’ll get 2 points on your driver’s license, jail time, 3 years of probation, a fine, and you will have to pay restitution to the victims in the hit and run.
  • For a felony, you will have fines according to injuries and damages, several years in state prison, and longer. If the victims sustained severe injuries or someone was killed. 

If you involve in a accident, the best thing to do is to stop and render aid to the victim. You don’t stop, you could charge with a felony. If you do stop, you will likely only charge with a misdemeanor. 

Things to know about a hit-and-run in California –

  • Bring your vehicle to a stop at the accident scene and ascertain the nature of the accident.
  • Put on your hazard lights to alert other drivers that there’s been an accident.
  • Where possible, according to the California Traffic Code, drivers require to move their vehicles to make way for smooth traffic flow. 
  • Where people are injured, see how you can help them. 
  • Call emergency services immediately to assist the injured. Having emergency numbers stored on your cell phone is a good idea. Call 911 for emergency services such as paramedics or police. 
  • Exchange contact and insurance information with all those involved.
  • You need to remain at the accident scene until the police arrive, and you permit to leave.
  • While on the scene of the accident, collect evidence. Take notes and photos of everything. Check also where any eyewitnesses can contribute to your collection of evidence. 

You have to stop – even for minor accidents

In California, don’t make the mistake of thinking that you don’t have to stop after an accident that you think isn’t serious. Even if you involve in a minor accident such as a fender-bender that was the other driver’s fault, and you leave the accident scene, it consider a hit-and-run accident in California. 

Whenever you involve in any kind of car accident, for your peace of mind, it’s best to hang around for a while to get a police report.

Any accident that involves other people and property requires you to stop. Failing to pull over consider a hit-and-run and a criminal offense. 

In California, you require to get a police report if the damage is more than a certain amount or if there has been an injury. People often think that a small bump is nothing, but it can be massively expensive to fix these days. Also, injuries can sometimes take weeks for sudden symptoms to flare up, so it’s always a wise move to see a doctor immediately after an accident.

Seek compensation

Sometimes the police are fortunate, and they find the hit-and-run driver. This means there is an opportunity to seek compensation for damages. With this insurance, you can be sure that you can pursue compensation for damages. This will be for medical bills, loss of earnings, pain, and suffering, a disability or disfigurement, and funeral costs. There is no doubt that an accident brings a lot of pain and suffering for physical and mental both and it’s your right to get compensated.

If a driver seriously injured you, you might think that you don’t want to bother with pursuing compensation for your damages. It is quite possible that you carry uninsured motorist insurance, and a lawyer can help you know what options are available to you. When you go it alone, you’re just likely to meet with disdain because you’re unfamiliar with the insurance- and legal world.

The best personal injury lawyers in California have broad experience representing clients who have been involved in hit-and-run accidents. If a hit-and-run driver hit you and you injured victim of an accident, put your mind to rest and call a reputable lawyer for a free consultation. They explain things to you in simple legal terms and advise you on the way forward. They will advise you as to whether you are eligible for compensation for your damages.

Hit-and-run accidents in California can bring about a whole lot of uncertainties. If you involve in one, and you are either the perpetrator or victim, your life can turn upside down. 

Don’t hesitate to be in touch with a personal injury lawyer in California, as they can take on all your uncertainties. Hit-and-run accidents are complicated, and you can’t hope to tackle them properly. You want sure that you will adequately compensate for the cowardly behavior of the hit-and-run driver. Who plowed into you and drove off on their merry, uncaring way.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here